iBelieve

“I believe in you”

This phrase is so powerful.

If you’ve attended LifeChurch in the past 2 months — you’ve seen a couple of messages from the series based on that phrase “I Believe in You.” Whether you are on the receiving end or the giving end of that phrase, it’s easy to dub this phrase as a top “life-giving” phrase.. The hope it gives is so valuable in basically any context.

Take a second and think about who you can say this to…Maybe your neighbor? Kid at church? Student? Son/Daughter? Subordinate? Co-Worker? Athlete?

Here’s a look from a 15 year old’s perspective:

I was 15 years old when I went away to Military School. It was only 2 hours from my home, but might as well been 1,000. The first several weeks I was extremely homesick and feeling pretty lost. There were actually several cadets who helped or mentored me during those first months. John Saltzman, who was my squad leader was the first to show compassion and to make me feel that everything would be okay. But there was one teacher who made the most difference for me during my 4 years at Oklahoma Military Academy. His name is Gary Easley. He was my History teacher, and my baseball coach. I remember that even though History was not a favorite of mine that Coach Easley inspired me to want to learn. He always had a calm and kind demeanor, and had a genuine concern for his students. In one of our baseball games I hit a ball between left and center field. When I connected with the ball, I thought to myself that this was my best hit ever. After I came back to the dugout, Coach Easley put his hand on my shoulder and said, “Gary, I think that was the hardest I’ve ever seen you hit a ball”. I think what made Gary special to me was that he cared. He made me want to be better; to do good. Since I left OMA, I have done better… I have done good. Thank you Gary Easley for being a mentor to me!

Gary Good
Oklahoma City, OK

It’s stories like these that reinforce the importance of reaching out and pouring into someone’s life. We have this honor, this great opportunity to take what we have learned through the good AND bad experiences, and pass it down to the next generation in hopes of seeing them succeed.

Some easy ways you can believe in others:

– Literally tell them, “I believe in you”
– Coach them
– Take time out of your week to hang out with them
– Tutor them
– Shoot them a text
– Be real w/ them

Serving is one of the most gratifying things you can be a part of. To be able to impact & heavily influence the next generation is something that is in HIGH demand. Think about who YOU can “take under your wing” & make it happen!

“We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”
Winston Churchill

“Mentoring is a brain to pick, an ear to listen, and a push in the right direction.”
John Crosby
Check out my post from a while back on Leader’s Roles
ML
Leave a Reply

