Some thoughts…

Hola,

As I’m rounding 3rd base and heading home regarding my college career, there are a few things that are fresh on my mind

Sports Industry Job
Everyone that is graduating is looking for a job, whether it be related to their job or something to temporarily get them by. It’s crazy to think that I could accept a job in the next 2-5 months that will in turn affect a big part of my life. One thing that has been hittin’ me hard is the fact that I don’t want to live for my job. I don’t want to enter a routine, 8am-5pm, where nothing I do really impacts the lives of people. Its crazy to think that all my efforts have been put into the sports industry. Two seasons with the OKC Blazers and two years with Oklahoma State Athletics (Wrestling). Don’t get me wrong, I value the experiences I’ve had, and I value the people I have met — you couldn’t put a price tag on that. But does running in-game operations, coordinating marketing plans & calling prospective season ticket holders really affect the lives of people?

Missions
One thing I’ve always been drawn to is Missions and providing hope where hope is non-existant. I recently took a leap of faith and signed up for a trip to Uganda where I will get to spend some time with Samuel Sebuliba of New Destiny Community Church in Kampala, Uganda. I describe it as a leap of faith simply because I could be working in professional sports directly after graduation. It’s instant money, instant comfort, and its work. There’s that word, comfort. As much as I want to have security in my finances, and live comfortably — I honestly don’t feel that my potential can be unleashed without being uncomfortable. To live uncomfortably, to me, is to deny my way of living, to deny the materialistic nature of what America has taught me, and to actually put to action what has been on my heart for years: which is to provide a glimpse of hope for people, to show them that there is a light at the end of a dark tunnel. I saw a blog, thanks to Kyle Porter, which emphasized that knowledge is useless unless something is being done. Like Kevin DeShazo — I want to be a Do’er, not a listener and not just a “talk-about’er.”

I recently saw this phrase on Mocha Club’s website “I need Africa more than Africa needs me.” At first, I was like huh? No way! But then when I really began to think about it, it became so transparent! When I was in Africa in ’07, I went out of luxury. I went to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro and see some cool animals. I went out of LUXURY. I can’t begin to tell you how much I hate talking about that vacation. Anyways, during out time there, we would go through numerous villages, where the locals would be out and about. Compared to the american way of living, they had absolutely NOTHING. They didn’t have a/c, they didn’t have lamps, they didn’t have couches or TV’s, they didn’t have Inifini G35’s or microwaves to heat up their food! They lived in mud houses with straw, and I can’t think of anything else. Noticing all that they didn’t have, I also noticed what they did have: CONTENTMENT. The smiles on their faces, the contentment in their hearts, and the sounds of their voices convicted me and still does to this point. “I need Africa more than Africa needs Me!” Why is it that when I get an iPod Nano 8GB, I then want an iPod Nano 16GB? Why is it that when I go out shopping, I have to buy those $70 jeans? Why did those African people have more contentment than me? Why was their energy so contagious that I wanted what they had? Perhaps, its because of the magnitude of how much faith they put in God? Perhaps they really understand these verses:

Phil 4:19 And my God shall supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Or this one:

Phil 4:6-7 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.7 Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

My prayer is that I really understand these verses, that I live uncomfortably and ultimately allow God to really shake my world up a bit.

6 responses to “Some thoughts…

  • SherryeV

    I really liked your blog, I’ve been talking about the same types of things with my sister recently. I feel the same way as you do about many of the same issues. Its so great to see your heart on here and you are making a difference at least in the lives of my children every Sunday. 🙂 Thank you so much for your time that you take out of your busy schedule to serve w/ my kids and others every week.

  • Ana

    Michael, I’m so proud of what God is showing you! Listen, obey His word to YOU, it may sound different than what others hear or for that matter “illogical” in the natural realm, but His ways are higher than ours and all He wants ffrom us is pure obedience in total trust. Do not doubt His ways. I’m blessed to see how mature you have become and how your soul is prospering. 🙂

  • Greg L.

    Michael,
    All I can say is WOW! I hear your heart, and trust God that He leads you by His will for your life. It’s an honor and a true privaledge to have a son that wants to serve others and live for God, especially in this fast-paced, selfish world of ours. Know that I love you and support you in whatever you chose to pursue, as I always pray for God’s wisdom and guidance on you.
    Thanks for sharing your heart. Let go and let God!
    Dad

  • kevin

    great stuff man. the world needs more of this. His kingdom needs more of this.

  • Kyle

    Great stuff dude. I got you in my blog roll, keept it up!

  • Paige

    I love the post Michael. Very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

